Participation of Prof. Yannis Caloghirou and Dr. Panagiotis Panagiotopoulos (LIEE/NTUA) in the First Conference of the CatChain project, 20-22/11/2019, Bocconi University, Milan

Prof. Yannis Caloghirou and Dr. Panagiotis Panagiotopoulos (LIEE/NTUA) participated in the First Conference on “Micro-dynamics, Catching-Up and Global Value Chains in the context of the CatChain project, that took place on 20-22 November 2019 at Bocconi University, Milan.

Download here the Conference’s programme

Many distinguished scholars on the fields of Evolutionary, Innovation and International Economics took part in the conference such as Bengt-Åke Lundvall (Aalborg University), Keun Lee (Seoul National University), Franco Malerba (Bocconi University), Nicholas Vonortas (The George Washington University), Gary Gereffi (Duke University), Sunil Mani (Centre for Development Studies), Carlo Pietrobelli (University Roma Tre), Yannis Caloghirou (National Technical University of Athens), Maria Savona (University of Sussex), Mammo Muchie (Tshwane University of Technology) and Jeffrey Orozco (National University of Costa Rica). In addition, young and senior researchers presented and discussed their original (unpublished) research on issues related to Micro-dynamics, Catching-Up and Global Value Chains. The conference included sessions that focused on specific geographic regions i.e. Latin America (in general and specifically on Brazil), Asia and Africa, as well as sessions with more generic and multi-country perspective approach.

Prof. Caloghirou gave a speech in the final session of the conference (“Final Reflections on Catching-Up, Global Value Chain and Innovation Systems”) in which Bengt-Åke Lundvall , Valentina Meliciani (Luiss Business School) and Franco Malerba (as Chair) participated as well. (see photos below)

Download here the presentation of Prof. Caloghirou (title: “Some reflections on the New Era, the main processes/systems and a key input”)

Furthermore, a Gala Dinner took place on the second day of the Conference in the context of which four young researchers were awarded for their papers. (see photos below)